Elm Hill Farm
Historic Landmark. Elm Hill Farm dates to the 18th century with a long & storied past. Originally consisting of 1,450 acres and one of the largest working farms in the region. Since then,1000 acres consisting of fields, meadows and woodlands were donated to the Massachusetts Audubon Society. The farm's claim to fame was "Elsie the Cow", who was born on the farm and was the icon for Borden Dairy products in the 1930's & 1940s. Later, the farm was converted to equestrian stables and well known for their Morgan horses.
The property now consists of approximately 30 acres. The original 1870 Colonial Mansion reflects a glamorous period with a welcoming covered porch, grand front foyer with elegant staircase, high ceilings, detailed molding, and numerous fireplaces. The property also includes two circa 1790 historic buildings, separate home with 3-units, three barns with stalls, riding arena, fenced paddocks, IG-swimming pool and gardens. Truly a special & unique property with tremendous potential.
- 1870 Colonial Mansion
- 8 bedrooms, 4 full baths
- 5066 finished square feet in main house (1st & 2nd floor)
- Grand front entrance with elegant staircase
- Five fireplaces (Music Room, Formal Living Room, Library, Dining Room, 2nd floor Bedroom)
- Hardwood floors throughout most of home
- Architectural shingles replaced in 2010
- Forced Hot Air System (fueled by oil) installed 2010
- Central Air installed 2010
- New 200 amp panel and breakers installed 2010
- Full walk-out basement also has interior access
- Town water & private septic
EQUESTRIAN / BARN / FARM AMENITIES
- Stable/Barn #1 - 10 stalls, tack room, stairs to loft
- Stable/Cow Barn #2 - 12 stalls, tack/grain room, 2 large lofts, lower barn
- Stable/Barn #3 - 11 smaller stalls, loft
- Barn #4 - 38' x 150'covered riding area with attached storage garage
- Multiple fenced turnouts
- 30.36 acres in total
- Abuts land owned by the Audubon Society
- Landscaped gardens & mature trees
- In-ground pool (pool was not opened in 2013 and in need of liner).
- Amasa Blanchard Carpentry Shop - 20' x 15' building dates from 1790 -1810. Recently discovered personal letters from that period indicate this building to be Amasa Blanchard's workshop. The sign for his business is now in the collection at Old Sturbridge Village.
- Parley Blanchard House - Saltbox homestead c1780 is believed to be the oldest of all the current Elm Hill Farm properties. The land was once part of an original land grant to John Hamilton, yeoman of Concord, who moved to Brookfield between 1721 and 1733.
DETACHED RESIDENTIAL HOME
- Identified as #28 East Main Street and includes 5.92 of the total acreage
- Home divided into 3 units (1248sf, 1248sf, 352sf)
- Utilities separate from main house